logotype-visa-line logotype-visa-line logotype-visa-line

ICRC Humanitarian Visa d’or Award – International Committee of the Red Cross


The ICRC Humanitarian Visa d’or award is granted in recognition of the work of a professional photojournalist who has covered a humanitarian issue related to a situation of armed conflict, and this year will be the ninth award. The subject chosen for entries in 2019 is urban warfare and the impact on civilians, either trapped and hiding or forced to flee. The ICRC was founded more than 150 years ago to provide assistance and protection for people in situations of armed conflict and violence. The ICRC operates in some sixty countries. The winner of this year’s award, with prize money of €8000 funded by the ICRC, is the young Syrian photographer Abdulmonam Eassa for his report on life as experienced by residents throughout the siege in 2018 in eastern Ghouta. The award was presented in Perpignan during the evening show on Thursday, September 5.

For information on the award: Frédéric Joli:fjoli@icrc.org

Award winners
  • 2018 Véronique de Viguerie
  • 2017 Angela Ponce Romero
  • 2016 Juan Arredondo
  • 2015 Diana Zeneb Alhindawi
  • 2014 William Daniels
  • 2013 Sebastiano Tomada
  • 2012 Mani
  • 2011 Catalina Martin-Chico