Canon Female Photojournalist Award

Supported by ELLE magazine


For the seventeenth year in a row, Canon and Visa pour l’Image will be presenting the prestigious Canon Female Photojournalist Award, supported by ELLE Magazine. It will be given to an outstanding female photographer in recognition of her contribution to photojournalism. At the final evening show in Perpignan on Saturday, September 9, the 2017 winner, Catalina Martin-Chico (Cosmos), received the award and prize money of €8000 to carry out her new and fascinating report on female FARC guerrillas in Colombia who, since the initial peace agreement was concluded, have now produced a local baby boom. The report will be programmed at the 2018 festival in Perpignan.

For further information: Images Evidence : Canon France - Cécile Fayet :

Award winners
  • 2017 Catalina Martin-Chico
  • 2015 Anastasia Rudenko
  • 2014 Viviane Dalles
  • 2013 Mary F. Calvert
  • 2012 Sarah Caron
  • 2011 Ilvy Njiokiktjien
  • 2010 Martina Bacigalupo
  • 2009 Justyna Mielnikiewicz
  • 2008 Brenda Ann Kenneally
  • 2007 Axelle de Russé
  • 2006 Véronique de Viguérie
  • 2005 Claudia Guadarrama
  • 2004 Kristen Ashburn
  • 2003 Ami Vitale
  • 2002 Sophia Evans
  • 2001 Magali Delporte